Usually held the first and second Saturday of each month, if I have 3 or more students registered. Class starts promptly at 9am, bring your gun, ammo, eye and ear protection, or contact me if you need loaners.
I can also do some weekday courses if I have 3 or more registered students.
$75 plus $10 range fee.
Our instructors make sure you learn MUCH more than the "quickie" 2 hr course commonly offered at gun shows and by other firearms instructors in the area. You will learn about the law as it pertains to concealed carry in Florida, and the risks and responsibilities faced by any holder of a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License. Students who pass this course will receive the State of Florida application for the Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License along with the photo, fingerprint card and course completion certificate required to be submitted along with the application.
Students will spend approximately 1-2 hours at the Ocala Sportsman's Association Firearms Training Facility, following National Rifle Association range safety guidelines under the direction of an NRA certified Pistol Instructor and Range Safety Officer, covering range safety, loading, unloading, safe handling and fundamentals of pistol shooting. Then we go to my office in Ocala for the classroom portion of the course, the NRA First Steps Pistol course.
Please pay the $75 course fee, pay online with our safe, secure server, using credit or debit card. Please send in the Registration Form (course application form, you can do this online). Also print out, sign and date the Terms and Waiver forms (2), and bring them with you to the class.
Students need to bring their personal handgun they intend to carry when they get their concealed carry license, along with your owner's manual if you have it, and at least 50 rounds of ammo for your firearm.
Please let us know if you don't have a firearm, we can arrange a loaner for you.
Also, each student needs to bring Eye Protection (safety glasses approved for shooting ) and Ear Protection ( shooting approved ear muffs or hearing protection device). Loaners are available, but you need adequate eye and ear protection at any shooting range, so it is a good idea to own your own eye and ear protection. Bring 50-100 rounds of ammunition compatible with your handgun. The wearing of holsters is not allowed at this range, so please bring your unloaded firearm in a safe carrying container. Targets will be provided.
Time at the range is followed by 2-3 hours of classroom time at my office in Ocala, covering pistol safety, parts and operation, pistol cleaning, storage and training opportunities. You will have the opportunity to join the shooting club if you desire. Saturday classes run from 9-1:30 or 2, weekday classes run from 10-2:30 or 3.
Also, bring your questions!
NO firearms, loaded or unloaded, are allowed in the classroom portion of the course.
Important message From The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Commissioner
Applying for a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm for self-defense is a right of law-abiding Floridians. However, you must remember that a license to carry a weapon or firearm concealed on your person does not authorize you to use that weapon. Use of a concealed weapon or firearm is regulated by other provisions of Florida law. It is my hope that you will exercise your lawful right to carry a concealed weapon or firearm responsibly, properly, and safely.
In receiving a license to carry a concealed weapon for lawful self-defense, you are undertaking a great responsibility. A license to carry a concealed weapon is not a license to use it. I am sure you share my hope that you will never find it necessary to use a weapon in self-defense. If you do, the law will protect you only if you have acted within the law. Those who are choosing to arm themselves with weapons should, therefore, be armed with the most indispensable weapon of all knowledge.
We are providing this information to you as a service in pursuit of that goal. Only you can provide the wisdom, restraint, and good judgment that the law demands of those who possess the ability to take another human life.
Charles H. Bronson Commissioner
For a list of states that recognize and reciprocate Florida's Concealed Carry License, go to Florida Concealed Carry License Reciprocating States